ACN Foundation Scholarships, Grants and Awards

The ACN Foundation is dedicated to helping nurses be the best they can be by providing access to scholarships, grants and awards. We are proud to provide a range of nursing scholarships kindly supported by philanthropic individuals, businesses and the ACN Foundation. The ACN Foundation also provides scholarships, grants and awards to support nurses in completing continuing professional development, postgraduate study, and research.

Find out about upcoming opportunities

Join our scholarships, grants and awards mailing list to find out about funding opportunities for nurses as soon as they become available.

Sign up now

Leadership Scholarships

The ACN Foundation is offering 1,000 scholarships for eligible ACN Members to complete the ACN Institute of Leadership's new course - The Leader’s Mindset Series 3, each valued at $1,100.

The Leader’s Mindset Series 3 provides the knowledge and skills for aspiring leaders to take the next step in their leadership career. The course consists of five online modules with students receiving 30 CPD hours upon completion of the course.

Applications are now open.

Read more   Apply now

The Bullwinkel Scholars Program

To coincide with the recent unveiling of the statue of Lieutenant Colonel Vivian Bullwinkel AO MBE ARRC ED FNM FRCNA, the Australian College of Nursing (ACN) has announced details of The Bullwinkel Scholars Program.

The 22 scholarships will honour the memory and sacrifice of the 21 nurses who were massacred at Radji Beach on Bangka Island, Indonesia, in February 1942, along with the sole survivor Lt Col Vivian Bullwinkel.

Each scholarship will be valued up to $10,000 in perpetuity.

Nominations for The Bullwinkel Scholars Program will open in September 2023.

Read more

ACN Grants and Awards

Applications for the below Scholarships, Grants and Awards are now closed. All applicants will be notified of the outcome of their application mid-July 2023. Should you have any questions please contact the scholarships team on 1800 061 660 or email

Member & non-member scholarships, grants and awards


Graduate Certificate Scholarships for First Nations Nurses — sponsored by HESTA

Sponsored by HESTA – two scholarships available for First Nations nurses to complete an ACN Graduate Certificate course of their choice, to commence in 2023.

Applications closed.


[NEW] Graduate Certificate Nursing Scholarship — x20 sponsored by Johnson & Johnson Family of Companies

Sponsored by Johnson & Johnson Family of Companies – 20 scholarships available to undertake one of the ACN Graduate Certificate courses listed below. 5 scholarships are available to First Nations nurses, 5 are available to nurses working in rural and remote areas of Australia, and 10 scholarships are available for all candidates in the specified fields of study.

  • Cancer Nursing
  • Community and Primary Health Care Nursing
  • Critical Care Nursing
  • Digital Health 
  • Leadership and Management
  • Orthopaedic Nursing
  • Perioperative Nursing

Applications closed.


Johnson and Johnson Consumer Health


Eric Murray Achievement Award

The award is to assist with continuing professional development or community work that is judged beneficial to the nursing profession and public.
Value of scholarship: $1,500
Eligibility: Open to current ACN students enrolled in one of the following ACN courses: 

  • ACN graduate certificate course
  • Graduate Certificate in Nursing (Bridging & Re-entry)
  • Immunisation for Health Practitioners

Applications closed.


[NEW] Anna M Shepherd Nursing in the Community Scholarship — sponsored by Regal Health

Value of scholarship: $5,000
Sponsored by Regal Health – full registration to complete the Mid-Career Nurse Leadership Program in 2023, available to a registered community nurse currently employed in a community setting. Valued $5,000.

Applications closed.




[NEW] Marjorie Schuman Rural Nurse Scholarship — donated by the David and Jennie Sutherland Foundation


Value of scholarship: $5,000
Donated by the David and Jennie Sutherland Foundation – full registration to complete the Mid-Career Nurse Leadership Program in 2023, available to a registered nurse currently employed in a rural and remote area of Australia.

Applications closed.


Laura Saunderson Aged Care Fund

Funding for continuing education for nurses working in aged care within Western Australia.
Value of scholarship: two valued $4,000
Eligibility: Open to ACN Fellows, Members and non-members working in aged care in Western Australia.

Applications closed.



Member-exclusive scholarships, grants and awards


> For undergraduates

Patricia Slater Award

This award is for a registered nurse who is within the first three years of graduating from an undergraduate nursing course. The prize is registration, travel and accommodation to attend the ACN National Nursing Forum.
Eligibility: Must be a Member of ACN.

Applications closed.


> For research

College Consortium Research Grant

The research grant is available to registered nurses and midwives to conduct a research project that aims to improve access, equity, quality, and outcomes in health care. Applications from research collectives and multidisciplinary groups are encouraged. Both the applicants and at least one co-investigator must be a member of ACN and has been for the past three years or more.
Value of scholarship: $30,000
Eligibility: Must be an ACN Fellow or Member for at least three consecutive years or more.

Applications closed.


Annie M Sage Memorial Scholarship

Available towards postgraduate research studies in nursing at an Australian university.
Value of scholarship: $10,000
Eligibility: Must be an ACN Fellow or Member for at least three consecutive years or more.

Applications closed.


> For postgraduate studies

Sister Margaret Y Winning Scholarship

Value of scholarship: $10,000

  • Currently enrolled or intending to enrol at Queensland University of Technology (QUT) in 2023 in a nursing Masters program or a doctorate program.
  • Must be an ACN Fellow or Member for at least three consecutive years or more.

Applications closed.

The Sul Stuart Fraser Scholarship

This scholarship is open to registered nurses wishing to undertake the ACN Graduate Certificate in Perioperative Nursing in 2023. There are four scholarships available and covers the cost of the course fees.

  • Currently working in a perioperative environment and have a minimum of one-year postgraduate experience.
  • Must be an ACN Fellow or Member for at least three consecutive years or more.

Applications closed.



Leadership Program Scholarships

The ACN Foundation is proud to announce new scholarships for:

Scholarship placements will be awarded on a first come, first serve basis and will cover the full cost of the six-month program, commencing with a five-day face-to-face masterclass being held in Melbourne from 20-24 March 2023

Applications closed.

Applications are now open and closes 11:59pm AEDT, Sunday 5 February 2023.

Read more   Apply now

Other opportunities

Health Minister’s Award for Nursing Trailblazers

The only award of its kind in Australia, the Health Minister’s Award for Nursing Trailblazers recognises nurse leaders and innovators who lead the way to transform our health and aged care systems by impacting costs, improving quality of care and enhancing consumer satisfaction. The award acknowledges nurse-led innovations and models of care which significantly improve health outcomes for the Australian community through evidence-based processes.
Find out more

Parkinson’s Care Postgraduate Unit of Study Award

Up to $2,500 towards ACN’s Parkinson’s Care postgraduate unit of study course.
Must be a Queensland-based registered nurse.